Edition 58 / 12 Dec 2020

Edition 58

Composer Yannis Kyriakides receives the Johan Wagenaar Award 2020 today. The only lifetime achievement award for a composer in the Netherlands, the Johan Wagenaar Award is presented once every four years by the municipality of The Hague. On this festive day, compositions by Kyriakides are played in several locations across the city.

In its motivation, the jury of the Johan Wagenaar Award 2020 says about Yannis Kyriakides (Cyprus, 1969): ‘He works steadily and methodically at the creation of an oeuvre of considerable quality, which is characterised by a wealth of ideas and the unemphatic incorporation of electronics and extra-musical elements.’ They also describe him as a ‘skilful and intelligent artist who […] makes a connection between accomplishments from the past and questions regarding our future, as in his recent composition Face, in which he adresses artificial intelligence and facial recognition.’

program Edition 58 / 12 Dec 2020



Yannis Kyriakides – Ode to Man




Yannis Kyriakides – Trackers

Maze Ensemble


De Helena

Meriç Artaç – Gece




Improvisation – Folia

Yannis Kyriakides / Andy Moor

Altijd als eerste op de hoogte?
Schrijf u in op onze nieuwsbrief!

U ontvangt regelmatig programmanieuws en mooie aanbiedingen.
U gebruikt een verouderde browser van Internet Explorer die niet meer wordt ondersteund. Voor optimale prestaties raden wij u aan om een nieuwere browser te downloaden. Hiervoor verwijzen wij u door naar:

browsehappy.com sluiten