Sat 12 December 2020

Trackers Cycle is a series of four compositions based on the satyrical drama Ichneutai by Sophocles. These are titled Trackers, Satyr Drama, Testudo and Waveshaper. These pieces were written specificly for the Amsterdam based ensemble MAZE and will be performed together for the first time in this concert. The fourth piece, Waveshaper, sees its worldpremiere tonight.

Trackers is an audiovisual work for open instrumentation, speaker, visual objects, light, video projection and smoke machines, created in partnership with Konrad Smoleński.

In Satyr Drama, text fragments are projected synchronously with various beats. The musicians improvise to this background based on characters from the Ichneutai.

Testudo is a solo for double bass and live electronic music written for Dario Calderone, in which tortoise sounds are transformed into a crazy virtuoso spectacle.

Waveshaper is the conclusion of  theTrackers Cycle in which the musicians all follow a separate audiovisual score and translate soundwaves into musical patterns.

Maze is an electro-acoustic ensemble dedicated to formal experimentation and hybrid notations in the tradition of legendary American trailblazers such as John Cage, Robert Ashley, Alvin Lucier and Pauline Oliveros.

Anne La Berge, flute and electronics
Dario Calderone, double bass
Gareth Davis, bassclarinet
Reinier van Houdt, piano, keyboards and electronics
Wiek Hijmans, electric guitar
Yannis Kyriakides, computer and electronics
Micha de Kanter, sound

Do you want to stay up to date?
Subscribe to our newsletter!

You will receive news and offers about our programs regularly.

U gebruikt een verouderde browser van Internet Explorer die niet meer wordt ondersteund. Voor optimale prestaties raden wij u aan om een nieuwere browser te downloaden. Hiervoor verwijzen wij u door naar: sluiten