Sat 1 June 2024
Amare Concertzaal
Spuiplein 150 Den Haag

On Saturday, composers Cecilia Arditto Delsoglio and Trevor Grahl receive the Willem Pijper Award 2023. No less than two laureates this time: out of this period’s abundant musical harvest, the jury decided to award two works that are very different but very similar in certain ways as well. Arditto and Grahl write for traditional media (orchestra and organ, respectively) but deploy them in their own fresh and idiosyncratic ways.

Cecilia Arditto Delsoglio receives the award for her orchestral work Tissue (2019) with which, in the words of the jury, she ‘hypnotises’ the listener. Following the award ceremony, Tissue is performed by the symphony orchestra of the Conservatorium van Amsterdam.

Cecilia Arditto Delsoglio - Foto:
Trevor Grahl

Trevor Grahl is awarded for Music for Malmö (2019), a composition for solo organ and electronics. Grahl has a deep familiarity with the organ and uses it as ‘a source of exceptionally rich colours, nuances, and unprecedented playing modes’, according to the jury. Because Grahl’s work calls for a specific kind of midi-controlled organ, of which there are only a few in Europe, it unfortunately cannot be performed in The Hague. On Sunday afternoon 2 June, Dag in de Branding therefore presents an extra concert at the Amsterdam Orgelpark, where Grahl plays Of Ancient Days, on which he has based Music for Malmö.

The Willem Pijper Award is one of the composition awards of the municipality of The Hague, curated by the Johan Wagenaar Foundation. Previous winners include Hugo Morales Murguía and Yannis Kyriakides. This year’s laureates receive their awards from alderman Saskia Bruines.

Symphony Orchestra Conservatorium van Amsterdam
FluteThibaut Bouquet, Gîta Vata León
Oboe – Louise van Eygen, Andrea Muñoz Quintana
ClarinetOihan Espina Errasti, Vladyslav Petryk
Bassoon – Alejandro Morillo Cabezas, Ana Genet
Horn – Guillermo Núñez Rodríguez, Sybren Faber, Anton Sanmartín Pérez-Lafuente, Blanka Kovács
Trumpet – Miguel Valles, Victor Decruyenaere
Trombone – José Faria Pinto, Cyril Beijer, Joan Gimeno Carretero
Percussion –
Oier Cáceres, Jason Chen
Violin IElisa Dijkstra, Menno Verloop, Martino Colombo, Ian Valentin Palazov, Weronika Weiss, Caspar Bellamy, Alice van Binsbergen, Alvaro García Villar
Violin IIRuben Ide, Livia Stefani, Dasha Serck, Felicia Bao, Daniel Perzhan, Matthia Elders
Viola- Anuschka Pedano, Ana Castro, Hannah Donohoe, Teresa Llul Ferrer, Marinha Machado Campos
CelloThomas Larichilière, Jan van der Plas, Isaac Lottman, Marta Jiménez Rodriguez, Emanuel Reber
Double Bass Nadav Vaknin, Omri Hadani, Dimitrios Simopoulos

Do you want to stay up to date?
Subscribe to our newsletter!

You will receive news and offers about our programs regularly.

U gebruikt een verouderde browser van Internet Explorer die niet meer wordt ondersteund. Voor optimale prestaties raden wij u aan om een nieuwere browser te downloaden. Hiervoor verwijzen wij u door naar: sluiten