Sun 19 September 2021
Nieuwe Kerk

As if the sight of eight cellists on stage isn’t spectacular enough, artist Rob van Broek adds a newly designed instrument that gives the ensemble the allure of a living sculpture. With Severade, composer Maxim Shalygin takes a sneak peek into the future. In addition to the classic cellos played by the members of Cello Octet Amsterdam, he wrote this piece for a next-generation robot cello. Designed by Rob van den Broek, this electrically powered instrument produces mysterious-sounding low notes that can be sustained over a very long time. Just what Shalygin needed for this ‘Serenade to the North Sea’.

Cello Octet Amsterdam
Sanne Bijker
Claire Bleumer
Esther Torrenga
Rares Mihailescu
Sanne van de Horst
René van Munster
Alistair Sung
Geneviève Verhage

Do you want to stay up to date?
Subscribe to our newsletter!

You will receive news and offers about our programs regularly.

U gebruikt een verouderde browser van Internet Explorer die niet meer wordt ondersteund. Voor optimale prestaties raden wij u aan om een nieuwere browser te downloaden. Hiervoor verwijzen wij u door naar: sluiten